The benefits of Tai Chi

There is a Neighbourhood Scheme group in Pellon called High Five, who run a varied programme of classes for people over 50 throughout the week, including a busy Tai Chi class. High Five’s chair, Sue Watson, went along recently in order to experience the benefits of this popular form of exercise for herself, and she shares this with us here:

In a gap in my busy programme I visited our very popular Tai Chi class for three sessions. I wanted to see for myself what all the fuss was about. I can tell you that they are a very friendly group who enjoy lots of laughs together.

Tai Chi itself, I could see, is an excellent form of gentle exercise. It has stress busting and relaxing elements. It encourages the practice of good balance so vital in ageing. There is also a less obvious  element. I have watched “Brain Gym” in school. Similarly Tai Chi develops better co-ordination and stimulates the mind as well as the bod .

As a complete beginner, these few sessions have shown me the virtues of this exercise and I can highly recommend it.

High Five’s Tai Chi class takes place at Highgate Methodist Church on Monday afternoons (followed by a cuppa, and the ‘singing for fun’ group.

Alternatively, Neighbourhood Schemes groups are running Tai Chi in Southowram, Illingworth, Todmorden, Sowerby, Halifax, Elland, Bailiff Bridge, Rastrick, Brighouse and Lower Edge… so you’ve no excuse not to try it! For information, contact the Neighbourhood Schemes team on 01422 393794 or email nst.admin@calderdale.gov.uk.

Comments are closed.